Mushroom Soup for the English Teacher’s Soul

Perhaps a controversial choice considering the title of this post, but my W ingredient is wine. Obviously it is necessary while I am cooking after a long day at work, in a glass to be sipped on as I potter around the kitchen, but I also use wine in a range of dishes. From white wine in risotto to red wine in stews, wine is great both in and beside a delicious meal. Tonight I used white wine in a mushroom soup.

Whenever I visit my grandparents in Christchurch, I always request my Granny’s mushroom soup. It is rich and creamy and tastes like cooking pre calorie counting. This is a slightly fresher tasting version, perfect for when the rain is drumming the roof and you have a pile of marking awaiting you.

DSCF0184

Mushroom Soup

Serves four

4 cloves of garlic
1 onion
A couple of handfuls of mushrooms
A handful of thyme
A pinch of chili
Zest of half a lemon
Half a glass of white wine
1.5 Litres of vegetable stock (or you could use chicken stock)
100 ml cream
Watercress to garnish

DSCF0183

Fry the finely diced garlic and onion in olive oil (and a lump of butter if you are feeling indulgent like me) lemon zest, chili flakes and the thyme. When the onion has softened, add the diced mushroom. Season well and leave for about ten minutes. Add the wine and wait until it has burnt off (you can’t smell any alcohol) before adding the stock. Simmer this for about 20 minutes then blitz just over half of it in a blender until it is a smooth consistency. Mix it all together and add the cream. This will take about ten minutes to heat through and become a delicious and fragrant soup.


DSCF0190
If you are wanting another W ingredient, garnish with some watercress and serve with buttery hot toast. Yum.

DSCF0192

Despite the fact I am doing marking on a Sunday night, I just love being a teacher. I have been having the most amazing discussions in my Year 12 English class about a whole ranger of topics ranging from the expectations on teenage girls to whether real education happens in or outside the classroom. I may have even convinced them that you don’t have to  have hairy armpits and hate men to be a feminist who believes in women’s rights…

2 comments

  1. Interesting, my English teacher in year 12 was a feminist Buddhist with hairy armpits. She was actually from England too.

    I do love cooking with wine but I think it also inspires the cook to have a glass while cooking. 🙂

Leave a Reply

