Lazing on a Sunday afternoon…

Even though I am not a sweet tooth, give me a hunk of blue cheese over chocolate any day, lazy days are always made better by coffee and cakes. So I was actually pleased when I woke up on Sunday morning to the sound of rain drumming on the roof. It made it perfectly excusable to stay in, do some baking, watch Downton Abbey and read a book. It also allowed me to use Sugar for my S ingredient.

IMG_0982

I had seen a recipe for banana and lavender loaf on another blog, and thought I would give it a go in muffin form. I love the smell of lavender, it conjures up images of fresh sheets and English gardens. I wanted to know what it would be like to eat the smell as well and I was not disappointed! (But I was with the photos, sorry.)

IMG_0990

Banana and Lavender Muffins

100g cup butter
3/4 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
3 big bananas mashed up
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 tablespoons of lavender flowers chopped

Cream the butter and brown sugar together. Once combined, add the eggs and bananas until just blended. Stir in the dry ingredients. Then bake at 180° for 10-15 minutes until golden at the top. Easy peasy! Even I could manage it.

IMG_0994

Luckily I had a few friends call over, so I didn’t eat the entire batch of muffins by myself!

One comment

  1. You may have just described my perfect day – Downton Abbey, baking and reading. Bliss. Your muffins look lovely!

Leave a Reply

