Taking a walk down memory lane

A couple of Easters ago, Ollie and I spent the day at Tim’s Sussex St flat. I had only just moved to Auckland and was still feeling like I didn’t know many people, like I didn’t like the city and like I missed everything about living in Italy. Tim made us an incredible roast lamb with mint and raspberries, followed by a peach and rosemary tarte tatin. This lunch, shared with nice wine and a couple of good friends on a sunny day, made me feel happy about my place in this sprawling city I gladly now call home. Taste can act as such a strong memory trigger, and whenever I taste the sweet and savoury combination of peach and rosemary, I think of the lunch I shared with Tim, Bruno and Ollie.

IMG_7216

Tim’s Peach and Rosemary Tarte Tatin

120g castor sugar
20g buter
3 rosemary sprigs
1 butter puff pastry sheet
5 peaches halved

Heat the sugar in a 24cm oven proof frying pan until caramelised (this should take about 5 minutes). Add butter and rosemary and swirl to combine. Add the peaches skin side down and remove from the heat. Cut the pastry slightly bigger than the pan and place over the peaches, tucking in the sides. Pop it all in the oven at 250°C until puffy and golden (15-20 mins). Leave to cool in the pan for 5 minutes before turning out onto a plate.

DSC_0464

DSC_0471

DSC_0482

DSC_0485

This is such an easy and impressive way to use the bags of peaches you can buy from the side of the road at this time of year, and the sweetness is nicely balanced by the savoury taste of the rosemary. Summer on a plate!

Leave a Reply

