‘Songs from our Youth’

I know. This is late. It is already Wednesday night and there has been no F post for last week. But here I am! Full of Fun Filled Fantastic Fabulousness (yes I have been teaching alliteration as part of a poetry unit this week at school).

I blame the long weekend for my tardiness. Ollie flew off for a job interview in the States, and I went up North to the Tutukaka coast with a group of friends for a few days of drinking, dancing, reading and relaxing. I learned that a night dancing to ‘collective songs from our youth‘ is the best way to spend a Saturday night, and that Delaney makes amazing pancakes.

My recipe this week/last week is a basic one. Perfect with a glass of wine before dinner and super quick to whip up. And I would just like to clarify that this isn’t real bruschetta, but a take on it. Am I safe from the Italians now?

Eggplant, Feta and Mint Bruschetta

1 French stick
1 eggplant
1 clove of garlic
1 lemon
Olive oil
Salt
White wine vinegar
Feta
A handful of mint

First of all, you want to cook your eggplant. How you do this is entirely up to, depending on what you have at your disposal. The best is if you can use a griddle or a BBQ – this will give you those great rustic lines across the eggplant. If you don’t have either, just grill in the oven or fry in a pan. Then immediately put into a bowl with a good dowsing of olive oil, the lemon juice, finely diced raw garlic, salt and splash of white wine vinegar. The eggplant will soak all of this up, making it delicious and tasty. At this stage you can serve this on an anti pasta platter with lots of fresh parlsey.

However, if you would like to include something beginning with F, now is your chance to shine! Place on top of lightly toasted slices of the French stick, crumble feta on top, sprinkle the fresh mint over it all and voilà! A light and tasty pre meal snack!

F is also for fish. And tonight in the flat I made fish tacos, such a quick and summery meal. To make this, bake some fish rubbed with paprika, olive oil and lemon zest in the oven. Serve on a wrap with some salad greens, grated carrot, avocado, red onion, fresh chilli and tomato and then top with sour cream and mint.

An ideal dinner for when you arrive home late after celebrating a new home with good friends. Congratulations Anna and Zach! I couldn’t be happier for you x

 

3 comments

  1. Jess Glen · · Reply

    Ha can’t believe you were just in Tutukaka, when I was in Parua Bay. Practically neighbours! Bring on this weekend – brought to you by the letter G. It’s going to be a goodie.

  2. Beas this looks amazing! Can you let me know what the Italians class as real Bruschetta? Ideas for G….game meat or Gorgonzola?

  3. Thanks Anna, it wouldn’t be with a French stick, but I’m sure they’ll forgive me.
    Jess – can’t believe we were neighbours! You’ll have to send me your gingerbread recipe x

Leave a Reply

